Sports

The Open: Shane Lowry’s penalty explained – What happened, why was he punished, what are the rules and what was said at Royal Portrush? | Golf News

The former major champion, Shane Lowry, participated in an offense in controversial rules at the opening. We try to explain what caused his penalty two shots to Royal Portrush, the rules behind her and what is the reaction to the decision …

What Has Lowry been penalized?

Lowry played the 12th hole per-crest in his second round when his journey finished in the Rough on the left, with his ball and then he moved while taking a training swing for his second blow.

His club touched a branch near the ball during the swing and moved the ball, leaving it in a slightly different place where it had originally landed, which is a violation of rule 9.4 in the rules of golf.

Please use Chrome Browser for a more accessible video player

Brandel Chamblee says he respects the way Shane Lowry managed the penalty tragedy and admits penalties like this “difficult to take”

This rule applies when “it is known or practically certain than a player – including the player’s shopping – raised his ball at rest or that the actions of the player have made him move”.

“He has definitely moved, but he only moved a few dimples,” said Brandel Chamblee Golf canal. “It is quite clear that he who was taking a training wing like this would have moved.

“Each player who has already played this game has made this practice wing right next to your ball. The ball never moves. It was just installation, but whatever the little vibration that it made.”

How visible it was and what re-spannings were used?

Images on social networks have emerged from a rerun to the idle of the movement of the lowry balloon, although – under the rules of the golf – this video would not be used as a determining factor to know if a penalty should be issued.

The rules indicate that “when improved technological evidence shows that a ball has left its position and rest in another place, the ball will not be considered to have moved if this movement was not reasonably discernible to the naked eye at the time”.

The R&A declaration said: “In the situation of Lowry, the balloon movement towards another place, including the movement of the logo, was discernible to the naked eye. The test of the naked eye is convinced whether the player looked or not the ball when he moved.”

Declaration of R&A
Picture:
Declaration of R&A


How did Lowry discover and what happened next?

Lowry first did equality on this hole and was not aware of any problem until a R&A rules manager told him about the 15th hole, where he discovered a possible penalty and the incident would be examined after the conclusion of his turn.

He then spent about 20 minutes to discuss the issue with tournament officials, as well as partners to play Collin Morikawa and Scottie Scheffler, before accepting the decision and undergoing a penalty for two strokes.

This transformed the peer of Lowry on the 12th to a double bogey and its 70 under a 72 in the second round, seeing him to go around the weekend on the level level and 10 strokes behind the leader half Scheffler.

Please use Chrome Browser for a more accessible video player

Highlights of the second round of the open to Royal Portrush, where Scottie Scheffler caught halfway

“You must respect how Shane managed it in the moment,” added Chamblee. “We are checked and called sanctions on ourselves, and in certain circumstances like this, they are terribly difficult to take because he has not seen it.”

Why was it a two-stroke penalty?

Movering the ball would cause a penalty to a blow if it was replaced in its original position, but as Lowry played a bad place, there are two shots.

The Declaration of R & A added: “While the ball was played in the place where it was moved, the player played a bad place and causes a total penalty of two strokes.”

“It’s a bit like Var and Football,” said former captain of the Ryder Cup Paul Mcginley. “These are the rules, technically. When someone passed the line, it’s offside. It’s very frustrating – I looked at it live and I didn’t notice anything.”

Please use Chrome Browser for a more accessible video player

Paul McGinley explains what happened with Shane Lowry’s penalty drama in the second round of the open to Royal Portrush

Former major champion Rich Beem said: “I feel very strongly on this subject, and being very frank on this subject, it sucks. Did the rules committee follow the letter of the law with the rule? Yes. But they had to zoom and slow it for us really looking at it. I just think it was a very bad judgment.”

What did the players say about it?

Lowry: “I think they [rules officials] had it in their heads, the ball was moving, I made it move, it is a penalty with two strokes. They had only one angle of camera which was zoomed on the ball. They had none of me in reality, what we were looking for and that we needed. “”

Scheffler, who played alongside Lowry, added: “In the rough, it is difficult to say. From what I looked very briefly on the video, it seemed to be very difficult to see if the ball was moving. The camera was sort of zoomed as things happened.

Please use Chrome Browser for a more accessible video player

Scottie Scheffler showed her sympathy for Shane Lowry, after her controversial penalty with two shots

“I’m not going to say a strong opinion here in the media to know if I thought or not that he deserved the penalty, but all I am going to say is that it was a very difficult situation for him, and I thought he managed it very well.”

Did Lowry do something wrong?

Lowry admitted that he was “disappointed” from the decision and denied any initial knowledge of any violation of the possible rules, although she accepted the decision and wanted to prevent her integrity be questioned.

“If the ball moved and I made it move and moved, it’s a two -stroke penalty,” said Lowry. “The last thing I want to do is sit there and discuss and not take the penalty, then make me shoot on social networks this evening to be a cheating.

Please use Chrome Browser for a more accessible video player

Shane Lowry gives his opinion on receiving a penalty two strokes after his training shot has slightly move the ball in the rough

“If the ball was moving, I would have called it on myself. My head was definitely looking at the ball and I haven’t seen it move. But I’m there for a 72 there now.”

McGinley supported his compatriot and said, “Shane did nothing wrong yesterday. He didn’t see him. I haven’t seen him on television. Many people haven’t seen him. You have to get an additional slowdown to do it. I think it’s hard.”

Should Lowry had to avoid punishment?

Lady Laura Davies said to Sky Sports: “I think it shouldn’t have been blows. I always thought that we started from this test by television, where you can zoom in for things like that.

“If it is not visible by what we were looking at at full speed, for me who does not count. I just think it’s not.

Beem explained: “I just think it was a very bad judgment. They followed the letter of the law, but I think it was very poor. There was no intention there. He certainly did not receive advantages, and a GPS location, he did not move. He moved a dimple, and she sank, which is even worse in this raw.”

Should the rules change?

McGinley added: “I understand what the R&D did. I am not critical of them, but I think the rule needs a little more latitude. It is such a beautiful line. I think it must be examined.

Please use Chrome Browser for a more accessible video player

Paul McGinley gives his verdict on the penalty with two blows from Shane Lowry, saying “it’s hard” but “technically the rules”

“I am always a believer in this game that we are our own referees, with the integrity of you as a competitor is really important. Whether in the local golf club at home or play in the open championship.

“He should be on the player. It’s something great in our game and I want to continue following this road. There will be people who could enjoy it, but I think the most important thing is the spirit of the game and you play the game with good integrity.”

Who will win the open? Look at the last male major of the year throughout the weekend live on Sky Sports. The early coverage of the final round is available on Sky Sports + from 8 a.m., before full coverage from 10 a.m. on Sky Sports Golf. Distribute open and higher sport without a contract.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button